about || info || writings || photography || credits || host || journal || current || archives ||
extras || links || friends || email || note || member of || previous || next || myspace

 

A poem is never finished, only abandoned.  ~Paul Val�ry
Poetry is an echo, asking a shadow to dance.  ~Carl Sandburg
Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn.  ~Thomas Gray
Poetry is not always words.  ~Audrey Foris
Poetry is the rhythmical creation of beauty in words.  ~Edgar Allan Poe

 

I Am Your Darkness~Part 1
2004-05-12 - 1:20 p.m.
______________________________

I Am Your Darkness

He swept into the room on a stagnant breeze of misty air. Judging by the state of his clothes, he had slept in them and I silently pondered why. The golden tone to his skin was evidence that he had recently fed but the tell-tale maroon spots on his collar also told me that it had been done in great haste. I delicately sniffed the air, inhaling deeply of the coppery scent lingering upon his body.

Swift as thought, he sailed past the sofa I lounged on, forcing the candle flames to flicker throughout the room. One by one, they sputtered out, casting a veil of darkness over the two of us.

I had no thought to be afraid. Why would an immortal ever be afraid? We are timeless, usually having no thought to consequences. His stiff posture elicited a small trickle of fear inside my stomach however and when he spoke, I realized what I had been missing while gauging his emotions.

"Ma cheri, you have been a very naughty girl this evening" came his booming voice from the center of the room. Thanks to my excellent night vision, I could see clearly the lines that marked his face, the tight control he retained over his features, gving way to disgust and displeasure.

Feigning nonchalance, I bravely asked him the question that he was simply waiting on me to ask so he could explode. Why prolong the inevitable?

"Whatever do you mean, my dear wolf? I have done nothing to warrant this sort of behaviour from you." Using my best, throaty growl, I almost whispered the question but decided against hard core tactics, knowing how he enjoyed listening to my smoke ravaged voice.

"You knew she was off limits, witch. Harming her was strictly forbidden and yet you chose to ignore my warnings! " With that, he stomped towards me, stopping at the end of the sofa, grabbed my ankle and flipped me off into the floor. Calmly and slowly, I sat up and turned to face him.

"Harm her? Harm her?" my voice grew with my agitation. "My dear wolf, if that is what you consider harm then I surely did not do a good enough job!" Sparks flew from my eyes, singing the wisps of hair that lay against my face. The stupid man actually had enough sense to step back a pace. He might be powerful and full of anger, but that was simply not good enough to best me even in an unfair fight, if he so chose to go that route.

"If I simply wanted to harm her, then she would not be slumbering with the worms for awhile now would she? But I will be honest with you, I chose the worst sort of punishment. And don't fear, wolf, she'll be back in your arms soon enough I warrant. " I spat at him.

Jealousy was a bitch. Even for a vampire. Perhaps more so, we had so much more to lose than our hearts.

raw || truth
______________________________
Past Memories:

2006-01-13 - Fear In My Skin
2006-01-10 - The Moon - Our Silent Audience
2005-12-14 - Promise
2005-12-11 - Pure Bliss
2005-08-31 - In This Grave