about || info || writings || photography || credits || host || journal || current || archives ||
extras || links || friends || email || note || member of || previous || next || myspace

 

A poem is never finished, only abandoned.  ~Paul Val�ry
Poetry is an echo, asking a shadow to dance.  ~Carl Sandburg
Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn.  ~Thomas Gray
Poetry is not always words.  ~Audrey Foris
Poetry is the rhythmical creation of beauty in words.  ~Edgar Allan Poe

 

Short Poems 2
2004-12-27 - 11:51 a.m.
______________________________


Alive
Was I even alive before I laid eyes on thee?
Did my heart beat, did my body react?
Were my tears able to dry, my fears run astray?
Before I met you, before my eyes caught sight.

Would my soul have been a better one
If never had I seen you there
Would my mind still be a part of me
If I had never laid my heart on you?

Begone
In your dreams
After he is done
Just wait til he's asleep
Before you grab the gun.
Rose petals scattered
A scrap of black lace
Crushed beneath someone's body.
Damn your sweet smile
And your unfailing logic
Begone from my heart!
Begone from my bed!

The Underlying Truth
What would you give me
To stay by your side
What could you say to me
To pass the years of time

What would you do for me
To keep me here with you
What should you be saying
Go on, tell the truth

What might you do to me
To hold me here in your arms
What could you make me feel
To keep me safe and warm.


Twist of Fate
A twist of fate
With the hand of hate
Your spirit of stone
My soul of dark
A kindled fire
In the center of my heart


A Smile
If I had a smile
I�d gladly share with you
If I had a smile to give
Even through the darkest skies

Untitled
I am no one
Here in your eyes
I am an open book
Hidden beneath the sighs.


Liar�s Bed
So lonely you are, there in your liar�s bed
Heartbroken, guilt ridden, fucked in the head
Your words of pure confusion, many left unsaid
Eating the bitter promises to keep your lies fed.


Sunshine
Think of me-
Yes, me
As your only sunshine
A breath of fresh air, inhaled divine
My star to your moon, let me define
The desire to have your body in mine.

Just Another Scar
I�m sorry you couldn�t compare,
Sorry you weren�t quite up to par,
I�ve learned my lesson, taken a blow,
I can write you off as just another scar.

I�ve taken many of life�s downs
This is just a notch on my belt
And I�ll continue on without you
Taking what I�ve been dealt

Don�t pretend to be the man
I thought you could be
You were simply another scar
Vivid for the world to see

I�m sorry you didn�t try
Sorry I carried it so far
I�ve been taught a thing or two
You are just another scar.


Lesson Learned
Lingering scent of your warm body
Remains upon my sheets
The smell of sweat and heat
And of love well spent.
Faint silhouette of your heart
Remains upon my pillow still
The scent of rain and heartache
And the lingering taste of your will.


Bittersweet Musings
How wicked your heart can be
To curse me with your love and warmth
How threatening your emotions
Like a raging summer thunderstorm

I will perish in your kiss
And do so gladly
With a smile upon my lips
With the knowledge of only
That you�re a part of this

How sinful these thoughts of mine
To have you buried so very deep inside
How dangerously close our lives intertwine
You there with yours, me here with mine

How delicious your love would be
To a heart so near to starving
How bittersweet when the honey is gone
And I can�t find the love
You insist you�re giving.

Graceless Dark
Begone, cold one
I hope you're doing well
As a favor from me to you
I curse you to the depths of Hell.

Beg of me, dear one
Down on your hands and knees
To spare you from the horror
Of what only your heart can see.

Behold, the door
Through which you walk
For the final time
Into that graceless dark.

Lingering
The lingering scent of your body
Remains upon my sheets
The smell of sweat and blood
And of love well spent.

The faint silhouette of your heart
Remains upon my pillow still
The taste of rain and heartache
And the strength of your will.


Mighty Pen
I place this mighty pen to paper
In hopes of banishing the memories,
To still my ever beating heart
And cool my heated body.

I tattoo heavy words on skin,
To remind myself
-My forgetful self
Of how I should be.

I lick these numerous wounds
In privacy, here in my cocoon
In hopes of hiding my illusions,
From the prying eyes of my scars.

I keep myself apart, so far apart
So I will not be tempted to feel
The tears of your wounded soul
The shame of your broken will.

Comfort
What will become of you, after the stars have fallen
And the moon no longer shines upon us
With barely a breath, you will carry on as always
Thoughtless as ever, believing you are faultless


Keep your distance, come no closer to the fire
I will no longer be here to keep you safe
With hardly a glance you will linger on
Fearless as before, thinking you are brave

See through a glass darkly, living in the clouds
You horde your sins close to your heart
With a final sigh, you will travel on
Unaware as always, living your life apart.


Become
What have I become
Here in my desolate lair
I no longer know myself
You no longer care

What have I become
My lovely friend
With a weakness of flesh
No longer able to mend

What have I become
That I can no longer see beyond
The fear and pain of today
No longer hearing the song

What I have become
My dearest love
Without a will to leave
I don�t know what I�m thinking of.


Love Comes Over Me
Poetic me, without the words
To express how I feel
When I hear your voice
Your laugh, your sighs
Love comes over me.

Too soon, I know
We've both been hurt
But how can I deny
The sensations I feel
When you touch my heart?

Trusting I am, hopeful still
That the perfect one for me
Is you
How can I tell you?
Love comes over me.

Bottled up inside it will remain
Tucked beneath my breast
In a special well of it's own
One day I will tell you
Just how you've touched my soul.

Perfection in a word you are
To me what no one else will be
What more do I have to say?
Love comes over me.


To Pass The Time
Here's a little poem I wrote
To help me pass the time
Words formed to banish the fear
And to look for a new sunrise
I put these words down to see
A brand new beginning for you and me
I place fingers to keys and dreams to paper
To give myself meaning
So here we are again
Back at the start
Me, trying to find answers
You, trying to find your heart
Never before have you touched me just so
A hand upon my back, a kiss upon my brow
Small acts of kindness that give back hope
Things I thought you could no longer show
So here I am once more
Wounded heart in hand
Trying to give you a piece of me
Doing the best I can
Take a look around you
See what has been missed
Spending your life away from here
Living your life without this
A shiny ray of hope
A simple spoken word
I know now after all these years
Just what I had been waiting for.

raw || truth
______________________________
Past Memories:

2006-01-13 - Fear In My Skin
2006-01-10 - The Moon - Our Silent Audience
2005-12-14 - Promise
2005-12-11 - Pure Bliss
2005-08-31 - In This Grave